Morehouse College Produces Creatives Too

Matthew Cooper
3 min readNov 24, 2021

--

By Matthew Cooper

Morehouse College is known for producing successful young black year in and year out. From business majors to sociology, you won’t find the exact same person at this school or any across America. Here Is a creative in his junior year at Morehouse by the Name of Winston Stewart.

A marketing major, Winston started his clothing brand Jada and Winston’s workshop in his senior year of high school at the rigorous Benjamin Banneker High School, a top-two public school in Washington D.C. While Winston will be a rising second semester Junior once the spring semester begins. His eyes weren’t set on Morehouse at first.

“So, I decided to go to Morehouse because, well, all my other schools I applied to were all art schools, Stewart said.” And I actually didn’t get in. I, the only one I got into was Pratt. The reason I ended up deciding to go to Morehouse was because I feel like I’ve always just been more comfortable around other black people and feel like I felt had, like after I visited Morehouse and got the sense of what it was like. To be there.”

This past Saturday, the Jada founder recently held a panel and pop-up shop at the Besocial store in Midtown Atlanta, Georgia. The panelists he had were no strangers to the AUC as they all either went to Morehouse College, Spelman College, or Clark Atlanta University or were alumni from there. This panel discussion revolved around the creative’s dealings in the clothing business.

Topics ranged from raising money for their garments, how to market them, the love you have to maintain them, and who they would want to collaborate with in the future. While Winston is still getting his feet wet in the clothing business, as a full-time student, you can commend how he has been able to have a notable business and be a full-time student at Morehouse. It’s safe to say he has the passion for it and is willing to stay in for years to come.

Stewart brought to light some notable challenges he and other creators have had to deal with in having a clothing brand. On the topic of discouragement, he had this to say.

“I feel like the biggest challenge that a lot of clothing designers face like discouragement. Like you dropped something and, you know, no one f**** with it, no one like, looks at it, or you feel like you’re not getting the appreciation you deserve. “

“So, I feel like I overcome that by just remembering that this is what I feel like I was put on this earth to do, I feel.”

Be sure to be on the lookout for the Jada brand, as your favorite artist or celebrity could be rocking his stuff in the near future. You, too, can rock his stuff and show support. After all, he’s still a junior in college. Feel free to search up Winston’s clothing brand on Instagram @ jad.a__ and Winstons. Workshop.

https://youtu.be/P6qSV-1OWDw

Matthew is a student at Morehouse College

--

--